Two Types of Districts

A district is part of an area, one of the 93 areas that make up the U.S./Canada General Service Conference.  Below are the two types of districts in General Service.

This is the most common type of district.  The number of groups in a district is usually determined by how many groups a district committee member, or DCM, can reasonably be expected to keep in touch with, learn their problems, and find ways to contribute to their growth.  District boundaries may be redrawn should the number of groups increase or decrease significantly.

To encourage participation of the maximum number of groups, some areas have incorporated linguistic districts within their structure.  These districts are made up of groups that conduct meetings in languages including French, Spanish, Polish, Vietnamese and American Sign Language. They usually have a bilingual DCM or liaison.  Their boundaries may be independent of the conventional geographic district boundaries.

Members of a District

Some districts form standing or ad hoc committees to address specific tasks.  Depending on the district and the type of committee, the committee chairs may be elected by the district or be appointed by the DCM.  Group conscience determines who may or may not be able to vote.

District 1

Calabasas, Canoga Park, Chatsworth, Hidden Hills, Northridge, Reseda, Tarzana, West Hills, Woodland Hills

District 2

Hispanic Groups: Arvin, Bakersfield, Delano, Lamont, McFarland, Wasco

District 3

Hispanic Groups: Canoga Park, No. Hollywood, Panorama City, Reseda, Sun Valley, Van Nuys

District 4

Hispanic Groups: Arleta, Canoga Park, Northridge, Pacoima, Palmdale, Lancaster, North Hills, Newhall, San Fernando, Sylmar

District 5

Hispanic Groups: Carpenteria, Oxmard, Santa Barbara, Goleta, Ventura

District 6

Hispanic Groups: Goleta, Grover Beach, Guadalupe, Lompoc, Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo, Santa Maria

District 7

Acton, Canyon Country, Lake Hughes, Lancaster, Newhall, Palmdale, Pearblossom, Phelan, Quartz Hill, Saugus, Valencia, Wrightwood

District 8


District 9

Oxnard, Point Mugu, Port Huneme

District 10

Bakersfield, Tehachapi

District 11

Burbank, Glendale, La Crescenta, Los Angeles (Brunswick Ave.)

District 12

Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Santa Paula

District 13

Meiners Oaks, Ojai, Ventura

District 14

Hispanic Groups:  Santa Paula, Fillmore, Camarillo, Thousand Oaks, Simi Valley, Moorpark

District 15


District 16

Canoga Park, Encino, Granada Hills, Northridge, Pacoima, Panorama City, San Fernando, Sepulveda, Sherman Oaks, Sylmar, Van Nuys

District 17

North Hollywood, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Sun Valley, Toluca Lake, Universal City, Van Nuys

District 18

Delano, Bakersfield, Wasco, Shafter, Richgrove, Earlimart, McFarland

District 20

Borron, California City, Lone Pine, Mojave, Randsburg, Ridgecrest, Rosamond, Rosamond/Mojave

District 21

Bakersfield, Buttonwillow, Delano, Shafter, Wasco

District 22

Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Avila Beach, Cambria, Cayucos, Carrisa Plains, Creston, Grover Beach, Los Osos, Morro Bay, Nipomo, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, San Miguel, Templeton

District 23

Goleta, Montecito, Santa Barbara, Summerland

District 24

Simi Valley

District 28

Agoura, Agoura Hills, Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, Westlake Village

District 50

Bodfish, Kernville, Lake Isabella

District 52

Lompoc, Los Alamos, Orcutt, Santa Maria, Solvang

District 53

Frazier Park, Pine Mountain Club

District 59

Bakersfield, Taft

Distritos Unidos Hispanos

District 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 14 & 18

Gold Coast Districts

District 9, 12 & 13